University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Beethoven the age of revolution

198853 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Alternate title:Age of revolution
Summary:Chronicles Beethoven's career and works up to 1804, counterpointing his development as an artist with the progress of the French Revolution. Examines Beethoven's technical demands on performers, and illustrates how difficult composition was for him.
The program contains sections of Piano Trio in C minor, Op. 1 #3; Piano Sonata in C minor ("Pathetique."), String Quartet in B Flat, Op. 18 #6; Piano and Violin Sonata in F ("Spring"), Op. 24; Symphony #3 in E Flat ("Eroica"), Op. 55"--Container.
Contributor:Lough, Robin
Gascoigne, Bamber
Beethoven, Ludwig van 1770-1827
Provider:Granada Television
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Composers Austria Vienna
Music Austria Vienna History and criticism
Music 18th century History and criticism
Beethoven, Ludwig van 1770-1827
Credits:Narrator: Bamber Gascoigne.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.