University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Haydn and the Esterhazys

198653 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Summary:Discusses the 40 years Haydn spent in the employment of the wealthy and powerful Esterhazys, writing and conducting a wide range of music, from comic operas to chamber pieces to masses.
Performances in this program include sections of the Piano Sonatas in D and F, Baryton Trio #48 in D, Quartet Op. 20 #2, Symphonies #44 in E minor and #65 in A, Il mondo della luna, and the Nelson Mass (performed by the Vienna Boys Choir)"--Container.
Contributor:Cash, Tony
Haydn, Joseph 1732-1809
Provider:Granada Television
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Music 18th century History and criticism
Music Austria History and criticism
Composers Austria
Haydn, Joseph 1732-1809
Credits:Narrator: Alan Bennett.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Performing Arts
European Studies
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.