University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Ludwig van Beethoven German composer

198310 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Summary:This story of the life of Beethoven (1770-1827) is also the story of the music of love, of war, of majestic palaces and simple country roads. Driven by his father to excel, he was forced to endure long lessons and hours of practice from age six. At age 30, Beethoven was in the prime and at the top of his career. But with professional success came personal tragedy ; he began to lose his hearing and was soon deaf to all but the music he continued to hear in his imagination. During the later part of his life, he composed his greatest works, including the Erotica, the Appassionata, and the Ninth Symphony.
Provider:Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Composers Germany Biography
Beethoven, Ludwig van 1770-1827
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.