University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

The waltz city

198953 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Summary:Discusses Vienna's history and musical culture in the 19th century, especially Brahms, Wagner, and the Strauss family.
Includes "sections of Johann Strauss: The emperor waltz, The Blue Danube, Die Fledermaus; Brahms: Piano waltz, Clarinet quintet, Symphony No. 1, German requiem; Wagner: scene from Die Meistersinger; Bruckner: Motet, Third symphony"--Container.
Contributor:Strauss, Johann 1825-1899
Brahms, Johannes 1833-1897
Wagner, Richard 1813-1883
Bruckner, Anton 1824-1896
Provider:Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Music Austria Vienna History and criticism
Music 19th century History and criticism
Composers Austria Vienna
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.