University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

The new music

198953 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Summary:Discusses the political and cultural climate in Vienna, especially Schoenberg's and his followers' twelve-tone system.
Incudes "sections of Schoenberg: "Erwartung," Opus 25 for piano, Mantra; Berg: Wozzeck, Violin concerto; Alexander Goehr: Quartet"--Container.
Contributor:Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951
Berg, Alban 1885-1935
Goehr, Alexander 1932
Provider:Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Music Austria Vienna History and criticism
Music 20th century History and criticism
Composers Austria Vienna
Twelve-tone system
Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.