University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Cello concerto no. 1

199354 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Alternate title:Saint-Saëns cello concerto no. 1
Cello concerto no. 1
Summary:Begins with a 30 min. segment in which Dudley Moore, Michael Tilson Thomas, and Steven Isserlis discuss Saint-Saëns' Cello concerto no. 1, followed by the performance of the concerto.
Contributor:Saint-Saëns, Camille 1835-1921
Moore, Dudley
Isserlis, Steven 1958
Thomas, Michael Tilson 1944
Sweete, Barbara Willis
Fichman, Niv
Provider:London Symphony Orchestra
Initial Film and Television
Channel Four (Great Britain)
Thames Television, ltd
Learning Channel (Firm)
NOS Television
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:Europe
Place of origin – Country:United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Place of origin – Region:England
Topical subjects:Concertos (Violoncello) Analysis, appreciation
Carnaval des animaux
Saint-Saëns, Camille 1835-1921
Credits:Presented by Dudley Moore ; Steven Isserlis, cello ; London Symphony Orchestra ; Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor. Producer, Jonathan Hewes ; musical director, Michael Tilson Thomas ; performance director, Barbara Willis Sweete ; documentary director, Niv Fichman ; director of photography, Nic Knowland ; editor, David New.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Performing Arts
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.