University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Towards new shores Modest Mussorgsky 1839-1881

198990 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Alternate title:Modest Mussorgsky towards new shores
Summary:Filmed in Russia, this documentary examines composer Modest Mussorgsky's life and work. Special attention is given to the impact of his music on contemporary Russia.
Some footage in Russian with English subtitles.
Contributor:Nesterenko, Evgeniĭ
Shenderovich, Evgeniĭ 1918
Ablaberdijewa, Alla
Petrov, Nikolaĭ 1943
Postnikova, Viktorii͡a
Lloyd-Jones, David
Maniura, Peter
Provider:Gosudarstvenny/U+02d8/i simfonicheski/U+02d8/i orkestr Ministerstva kultury SSSR
Estonia" (Theater : 1949-1998). Koor
British Broadcasting Corporation. Television Service
RM Arts (Firm)
SEPT (Television station : France)
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Bolʹshoĭ teatr SSSR. Khor
Bolʹshoĭ teatr SSSR. Orkestr
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Composers Russia Biography
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich 1839-1881
Credits:Yevgeny Nesterenko (bass), Yevgeny Shenderovich (piano), Alla Ablaberdeyeva (soprano). USSR Ministry of Culture Symphony Orchestra, Nikolai Petrov (piano), Viktorii͡a Postnikova (piano), Chorus and Orchestra of the Bolshoi Theater, Chorus of the Tallin State Opera, Estonia.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Performing Arts
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.