University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Five orchestral pieces

199454 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Summary:Michael Gielen, Charles Rosen, and Carl E. Schorske analyze the complexities of Schoenberg's atonal Opus 16. Biographical background, archival film clips, photographs, and period art provide insights into Schoenberg's quest for direct psychological expression. Includes a performance of the work by the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra.
Contributor:Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951
Scheffer, Frank
Gielen, Michael 1927
Rosen, Charles 1927
Schorske, Carl E
Provider:Radio Filharmonisch Orkest (Nederlandse Omroepprogramma Stichting)
Allegri Film
AVRO Holland
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Orchestral music History and criticism
Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951
Credits:Netherlands Radio Philharmonic ; Michael Gielen, conductor.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Performing Arts
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.