University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

After the storm the American exile of Béla Bartók

198975 minutesEnglishcolorJump to full details

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Alternate title:American exile of Béla Bartók
Summary:The Hungarian composer Béla Bartók spent the last five years of his life as a man without a country, a refugee from war-torn Europe. He spent these years, 1940-45, in the United States, and this film tells the story of these years. Includes excerpts from Bartók's music performed by György Sándor, piano, László Bársony, viola, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ervin Lukács, Sir Georg Solti, and the Chicago Symphony conducted by Sir Georg Solti.
Contributor:Sturrock, Donald
Sándor, György 1912-2005
Bársony, László 1946
Lukács, Ervin
Solti, Georg 1912-1997
Bartók, Béla 1881-1945
Provider:Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Magyar Rádió és Televízió Szimfonikus Zenekara
British Broadcasting Corporation. Television Service
Magyar Rádió és Televízió
Portobello Productions
SEPT (Television station : France)
Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
Place of origin – Region:New Jersey
Topical subjects:Composers Hungary Biography
Bartók, Béla 1881-1945
Credits:"Bartók's letters read by Bob Peck." Photography, János Illés, Keith Hopper.
Repository:Nonprint Media Services
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Films@UM Browse terms:Music
Performing Arts
Access restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.