University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Chen Chien-Tai, recital, Chinese instruments, January 25, 1981

1981-01-2500:34:18 hh:mm:ssJump to full detailsRequest from Special Collections

Digital videos
are available for viewing only
at the University of Maryland's
College Park campus or
through a VPN connection.
These videos may be viewed from
public access terminals at any of the
UM Libraries on the College Park campus.
Contact Us
Alternate title:University Community Concerts New Artist Series 1980-1981; Reel 1
Summary:1. Nan Hu (2-stringed bowed lute of Southern China) - "A Good Evening," "Spring Time in Every Family"; 2. Cheng (16-stringed plucked zither) - "Wild Geese Landing on the Sand Bank," "Night Scenes on the River of Spring"; 3. Ban Hu (2-stringed high-pitched bowed lute of Northern China) - "Wave-washed Sand"; 4. San Hsien (3-stringed plucked lute) - "Breakers Scouring Off Sand"; 5. Yueh Hu (2-stringed bowed lute of Kwangtung Province) - "Riding Horse"; 6. Yang Chin (struck zither) - "Dragon Crossing the River," "Eight Counts in Ancient Style". Instrumentation: nan hu; cheng; ban hu; san hsien; yueh hu; yang chin
Creator:Chien-Tai, Chen
Provider:University of Maryland (College Park, Md.). School of Music
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States
Place of origin – Region:Maryland
Place of origin – Settlement:College Park
Topical subjects:Instrumental music
Musical Instruments--China
ArchivesUM location:
Repository:Special Collections in Performing Arts
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Collection:Digital Collections
Access is restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.