University of Maryland Libraries Digital Collections

Symphonic Wind Ensemble conducted by John Wakefield, December 7, 1985

1985-12-0700:52:37 hh:mm:ssJump to full detailsRequest from Special Collections

Click here to play
Summary:Symphonic Wind Ensemble conducted by John Wakefield, December 7, 1985. Program also features concert band conducted by L. Richmond Sparks and the jazz ensemble conducted by George Ross. Side A includes (Sousa) "The Liberty Bell March", (Bernstein, arranged by Walter Beeler) "Overture to 'Candide'", (arranged by Alfred Reed) "Greensleeves", (Grainger, revised by Frank Erickson) Children's March: "Over the Hills and Far Away", (Alfred Reed) "A Festival Prelude". Side B includes (Rossini) Overture to "La Gazza Ladra": "The Thievish Magpie", (Robert Russell Bennet) Four Preludes: A Musical Tribute I. George Gershwin II. Vincent Youmans III. Cole Porter IV. Jerome Kern, (Goldman) "The Chimes of Liberty March".
Contributor:Ross, George
Sparks, L. Richmond
Wakefield, John
Symphonic Wind Ensemble of the University of Maryland (College Park, Md.)
Place of origin – Continent:North America
Place of origin – Country:United States of America
ArchivesUM location:
Repository:Special Collections in Performing Arts
Browse terms:Performing Arts, Music
Collection:Digital Collections
Collection may be protected under Title 17 of the U.S. Copyright Law. To obtain permission to publish or reproduce, please contact the University of Maryland Libraries at